Cumbria Crack

Mountain Top Music reveals the tunes which have changed people’s lives

The Hub in Workington
The Hub in Workington

[U]nique recordings in the style of Desert Island Discs are to be played at The Hub in Workington throughout January.

Four local people have recalled their musical memories for the cultural initiative which has been named Mountain Top Music. Councillor Mark Fryer, the Deputy Leader of Allerdale Borough Council, Andy Semple, who is part of the West Cumbria Works team and played in punk band The Limps, Debra Park, who is one of the organisers of Maryport Blues Festival and works for the ambulance service, and Charles Holmes, Allerdale Borough Council’s Head of Community Services, who is also a keen guitarist and drummer, have all made their tuneful selections.

Each of them were asked to choose a selection of songs which were special to them, and to tell listeners why each track marked a moment in their lives. They were recorded by Workington-based charity Soundwave, which promotes musical public participation.

The choices include You Make Me Feel Mighty Real by Sylvester, New Rose by The Damned and Don’t Stop Me Now by Queen.

Councillor Fryer, who has responsibility for Allerdale’s economic development, said: “Though music is played every day at The Hub, we wanted to do something a little bit different to entertain those who are visiting the town, and enjoying the town centre shops and cafes. If this proves popular, we’d like to continue it in the future with recordings from different members of the public.

“We are always looking for new and interesting initiatives to make our town centres ever more appealing so that people are keen to visit and stay longer when they do. The Hub is the perfect example of that but we wanted to do things a little differently in the hope that people will pause for a while and have a listen while they’re in Workington.”

Combinations of the four 30-minute broadcasts will be played on Saturdays throughout January at 11am and 2pm, with two people featured each time. The recordings will also be available on the Council’s website later this month.

Track listings:
Andy Semple

1.    Gang of Four – I Find That Essence Rare

2.    Joni Mitchell – Carey

3.    Ryan Adams – Oh My Sweet Carolina

4.    The Damned – New Rose

Charles Holmes

1.    AC/DC – School Days

2.    Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Welcome to the Pleasuredome

3.    Pink Floyd – Shine On You Crazy Diamond

4.    Xanadu – Rush

Debra Park

1.    Dave Edmunds – Girls Talk

2.    Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now

3.    Manic Street Preachers – If You Tolerate This

4.    Michael Jackson – Farewell My Summer Love

Mark Fryer

1.    Sylvester- You Make Me Feel Mighty Real

2.    Talking Heads – Psycho Killer

3.    Run DMC/Aerosmith – Walk This Way

4.    Francis Dunnery – Back in New York City

Related posts

Workington man prosecuted for dog fouling

Cumbria Crack

New team and new feel for Solfest in 2017

Cumbria Crack

Community clean up will blitz Workington’s harbourside

Cumbria Crack

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More