Cumbria Crack
  • Home
  • Sport
  • Voting opens for Northwest Football Awards

Voting opens for Northwest Football Awards

Players are set to go head to head this month in more ways than one as public voting opens in the player categories of the tenth annual Northwest Football Awards.

In the Premier League Player of the Year category, Tom Davies of Everton faces Manchester United’s Ander Herrera, Manchester City’s David Silva, Burnley’s Tom Heaton and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

Jamie Lee McDowell of Chester battles Everton’s Gabby George for this season’s Female Player of the Year accolade, alongside Caroline Weir of Liverpool and Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze, who has recently signed for Lyon.

All the players now need the backing of their fans around the world to vote for them ahead of this year’s star-studded awards ceremony at the Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November in Manchester.

The Northwest Football Awards turns ten this year and has grown in popularity and influence year-on-year, due to its inclusive approach to the game in the region.

It has also introduced a new award category this year, in recognition of the rise in popularity of Fan TV, which gives ordinary match-going supporters the chance to have their say, via the YouTube and social media. The nominees for the inaugural best Fan TV Channel are FullTimeDevils (Manchester United fans), BlueMoonRisingTV (Man City fans), TheRedmenTV (Liverpool fans) and Toffee TV (Everton fans).

These aren’t the only accolades up for grabs as the two hottest young talents in the Women’s Super League, Becky Tebb and Megan Finnigan, go against each other for the accolade of Female Rising Star of the Year.  Opposing them in the same category, Kiera Walsh and Niamh Charles join the four-way clash to take the crown at this year’s awards ceremony.

In the Championship category for the 2016-17 season, Blackburn’s Derrick Williams goes up against Ben Pearson of Preston North End and Dan Burn of Wigan Athletic, who will hope to follow his fellow teammate and last year’s winner, David Perkins’ footsteps.

In League One, Fleetwood Town’s Cian Bolger takes on Oldham’s Peter Clarke and Rochdale’s Michael Rose.

For League Two, Player of the Year nominations see Blackpool’s seven goal, Kelvin Mellor clash with Carlisle United’s midfielder, Nicky Adams as they go head to head for one of the hottest titles of 2017 along with Michael Rose of Morecambe and Accrington Stanley’s Sean McConville.

Voting for all Player of the Year and Rising Star Award categories is open until noon on Friday, 13th October. Fans can cast their votes and view the full list of nominees at

All awards, including the coveted Manager of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement accolade, will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November, hosted by the BBC’s Dan Walker.

Laura Wolfe, managing director of Wolfesport and the Northwest Football Awards said: “Each year, the awards have continued to grow in profile and stature and we are delighted to be celebrating 10 years of the Northwest Football Awards this year.

“As a region, we continue to be seen on the international stage across all levels of the game, from Manchester United’s Europa League victory to Blackpool’s playoff success and Manchester City Women’s’ incredible domestic treble.

“We’ve introduced a new category for the Fan TV this year, in recognition of the meteoric rise in popularity of this new platform, which gives football fans the opportunity to air their opinions in a whole new way.”

For more information, to attend or to vote, please visit www.northwestfootballawards.comVoting closes on Friday, 13th October.

Full list of Player Categories:

Female Player of the Year
Chester Football Club- Jamie Lee McDowell
Everton Football Club – Gabby George
Liverpool Football Club- Caroline Weir
Manchester City Football Club – Lucy Bronze

Female Rising Star
Chester Football Club – Becky Tebb
Everton Football Club – Megan Finnigan
Liverpool Football Club – Niamh Charles
Manchester City Football Club – Keira Walsh

Player of the Year National League
Barrow AFC – Moussa Diarra
Chester Football Club – Ryan Astles
Macclesfield Town Football Club – George Pilkington
Tranmere Rovers Football Club – Andy Cook

Player of the Year League Two
Accrington Stanley Football Club- Sean McConville
Blackpool Football Club – Kelvin Mellor
Carlisle United Football Club – Nicky Adams
Morecambe Football Club – Michael Rose

Player of the Year League One
Fleetwood Town Football Club – Cian Bolger
Oldham Athletic AFC – Peter Clarke
Rochdale AFC – Callum Camps

Player of the Year Championship
Blackburn Rovers Football Club – Derrick Williams
Preston North End Football Club – Ben Pearson
Wigan Athletic Football Club- Dan Burn

Player the Year Premier League
Burnley Football Club – Tom Heaton
Everton Football Club – Tom Davies
Liverpool Football Club – Sadio Mané
Manchester City Football Club – David Silva
Manchester United Football Club – Ander Herrera

Rising Star of the Year
Accrington Stanley Football Club – Reagan Ogle
Barrow AFC – Harry Panayiotou
Blackburn Rovers Football Club – Ryan Nyambe
Blackpool Football Club – Bright Osayi-Samuel
Bolton Wanderers Football Club – Josh Vela
Burnley Football Club – Dan Agyei
Carlisle United Football Club – Jack Egan
Chester Football Club. – Matty Waters
Everton Football Club – Idrissa Gana Gueye
Fleetwood Town Football Club – Kyle Dempsey
Liverpool Football Club – Trent Alexander- Arnold
Macclesfield Town Football Club – Mitch Hancox
Manchester City Football Club – Phil Foden
Manchester United Football Club – Angel Gomes
Morecambe Football Club – Luke Jordan
Oldham Athletic AFC – Mason Fawns
Preston North End Football Club – Alan Browne
Rochdale AFC- Oliver Rathbone
Tranmere Rovers Football Club – Ben Tollitt
Wigan Athletic Football Club – Dan Burn

Fan TV channel of the Year
Toffee TV

Related posts

Police appeal after Silloth holiday park burglary

Cumbria Crack

Seven arrested in Workington drugs raid

Cumbria Crack

Simon O’Brien uncovers the books that made the North West

Cumbria Crack

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More