Cumbria Crack

Barrow Sixth Form students’ achievements celebrated at annual awards ceremony

Barrow Sixth Form College Prize Fund Awards winners with Principal and Chief Executive of Furness College Andrew Wren

[A] group of high-achieving Sixth Form students reunited to celebrate their achievements at Barrow Sixth Form College’s annual Prize Fund Awards Evening.

Over 30 students were recognised for their academic and personal achievements at the annual prize-giving ceremony on Thursday 4th January.

Andrew Wren, Principal and Chief Executive of Furness College, said: “A huge congratulations to all prize winners.

“We have exceptional students here at the College and these award categories are designed to celebrate talent, commitment and dedication of all kinds – not just academic.

“As you start on a new journey and progress in employment or your education, don’t forget that you are the best of the best.

“It’s so rewarding for me and all staff at the College to see your success and celebrate your achievements.”

This year, awards for the academic year 2016-17 were given as monetary prizes ranging from £100 to £500, with almost £9,000 handed out on the evening from the Prize Fund.

The Prize Fund Trustees were represented by Chair Derek Lyon, the former Chair of Governors at Barrow Sixth Form College, who congratulated students on their achievements during the event, and Trustee Phil Bates.

Prize winners were selected by specialist Sixth Form staff on the basis of their academic excellence, commitment to their chosen courses, attendance and personal achievements during their time at the College.

Students were limited to receiving one award, and those nominated for more than one award received the highest value award.

GSK’s Pat McIver at Barrow Sixth Form College’s Prize Fund Awards Evening

Guest speaker Pat McIver, Director of Manufacturing/Production Operation at GSK, praised the students’ success and encouraged them to continue to strive for excellence in the future.

He said: “As graduates of Barrow Sixth Form College, you’re a very talented group of people.

“My advice to you is to stick to the path that’s right for you to achieve excellence, invest in your own development in pursuit of excellence and you’ll go on to have great careers.

“Continue to work hard, give your best over and over again until you become the best and you’ll all enjoy the success you deserve.”

Many former sixth formers have now gone on to study at universities around the country or started their careers with local employers such as BAE Systems.

Bradley Hayton-Mulvey, who received a Head of Sixth Form award, is now studying Pharmacy at Liverpool John Moores University.

He said: “I’m really enjoying what I’m studying and the independence of being at university. Studying at Sixth Form prepared me for independent learning and really helped me to take the next step.

“I’ve got some interesting career options so I’m excited about what the future holds.”

Melissa Hutt, who was awarded a Deputy Head of Sixth Form Award, said: “I’m currently studying a Mental Health Nursing Degree at the University of Cumbria.

“In my second year, I have an elective placement and I’m going to save my prize money so I can do my placement in Australia.”

Deputy Head of Sixth Form Helen Gibson with Head of Sixth Form award winner Zach Briant

Zach Briant, is currently undertaking a Higher Apprenticeship at a local defence company as a Nuclear Engineer and was awarded a Head of Sixth Form award.

He said: “I applied for the apprenticeship as it was something I was interested in.

“I studied STEM subjects and I’m confident my grades and Higher Apprenticeship will help me in the future, no matter where my career takes me.”

Barrow Sixth Form College Prize Winners 2018

Head of Sixth Form awards

  • Nathan Hall
  • Zach Briant
  • Niall Cameron
  • Helena Ghuman
  • Bradley Hayton-Mulvey
  • Jess Livesey
  • Danielle Mitchell
  • Ben O’Flynn
  • Beth Postlethwaite
  • Laura Street

Deputy Head of Sixth Form awards

  • Molly Field
  • Melissa Hutt
  • Chloe Limitsios
  • Laura Foster
  • Joseph Hadwin
  • Reuben Lindsay
  • Dean Chester
  • Natasha Neatis

Personal Progress Mentor awards

  • Helen Iroanya
  • Hannah Pryer
  • Kairen Thackrah
  • Georgia Trelore
  • Rygie Trigo

Personal Progress Mentor attendance awards

  • Mia Boyd
  • Niamh Fallows
  • Louise Linton
  • Alex Walker
  • Rebecca Williams

Martin Longstaffe Memorial Prize

  • Benjamin Elvy
  • Philip Geddes Memorial Prize
  • Katie Rushworth
  • Sharon Lamb Memorial Prize
  • Chelsey Brun
  • David Cole Memorial Prize
  • Tyra Rushton
  • Dan Logan Memorial Prize
  • Joseph Schofield
  • William Rollinson Memorial Prize
  • Emily Cox
  • Derrick Gould Memorial Prize
  • Abigayle Ruston
  • Elizabeth Mauchline Roberts Prize
  • Georgia Henderson

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More