Cumbria Crack

Arnside and Milnthorpe by-election results

Tim Farron MP with newly elected councillors Pete McSweeney and Helen Chaffey

Helen Chaffey and Pete McSweeney have been elected to represent seats covering the Arnside and Milnthorpe areas in by-elections held yesterday (Thursday).

Helen Chaffey was elected to the Arnside and Milnthorpe ward on South Lakeland District Council (SLDC) and Pete McSweeney was elected to the the Kent Estuary Electoral Division of Cumbria County Council.

The by-elections were called to fill the vacant seats following the death of Councillor Ian Stewart in October.


Arnside and Milnthorpe Ward (South Lakeland District Council)

Jill ABEL (Green Party): 125

Rachel ASHBURNER (Conservative Party): 709

Helen CHAFFEY (Liberal Democrats): 1,319

Kate Malinda Holly LOVE (Labour Party): 68

Turnout: 44.22%

Kent Estuary Electoral Division (Cumbria County Council)

Jill ABEL (Green Party): 109

Tom HARVEY (Conservative Party): 666

Pete MCSWEENEY (Liberal Democrats): 1,381

Kate Malinda Holly LOVE (Labour Party): 70

Turnout: 44.22%

Local Lib Dem MP Tim Farron said: “I’m so incredibly grateful to everyone who voted for our local Lib Dem team yesterday.

“Pete and Helen work really hard for their local community. And I know, alongside local councillor Rupert Audland, they will continue to get things done for the villages of Kent Estuary.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More