Cumbria Crack

Keswick author shortlisted for Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2019

Sophie Anderson

A Keswick-based former science teacher has been nominated for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2019, widely regarded as one of the most prestigious accolades in the world of books.

Announced today, Thursday 7th February, Sophie Anderson is shortlisted in the Younger Fiction category for her novel The House With Chicken Legs.

The House With Chicken Legs

Sophie Anderson grew up in Swansea and has worked as a geologist and science teacher in several parts of the UK. Now living in the Lake District, she loves to write stories inspired by different folklores, cultures, and landscapes. Her debut novel The House With Chicken Legs is a spellbinding adventure, bound up with traditional fairy tales, that transports the reader to a world of spirits, witches and ancient rules.

Sophie Anderson says; “I’m happy as a dancing Yaga-house that The House with Chicken Legs has been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. The support and kindness I’ve received from Waterstones and their brilliant booksellers this year has been absolutely phenomenal, and I owe them more thanks than there are stars in the sky. This really is a dream come true, and I can’t wait to celebrate with the other shortlisted authors!”

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize exists to reward and champion new and emerging talent in children’s books. Now in its fifteenth year, it is widely regarded as one of the most important prizes for children’s books.

Last year’s winner, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas shot to the top of the bestseller charts following the award announcement and saw an increase in sales of over 900% across the Waterstones estate.

The winners will be announced at an evening reception at Waterstones Piccadilly (London), Europe’s largest bookshop, on Thursday 21st March 2019. Six books will compete within each category to be crowned category winner, with the three category winners then vying for the overall title of Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year 2019. The winner of each category will receive £2000, with the overall winner receiving an extra £3000. In the event that the prize is awarded to a partnership then the prize money will be split equally between the joint winners.

The winning authors and illustrators will also see a significant boost in sales, and the promise of an ongoing commitment to their writing career from all Waterstones shops nationwide.

The full lists of shortlisted titles (in alphabetical order by author) for the 2019 Prize are:

Illustrated Books:

  • The Girls by Lauren Ace and Jenny Lovlie (The Little Tiger Press)
  • Mini Rabbit Not Lost by John Bond (HarperCollins)
  • Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History by Vashti Harrison (Penguin)
  • The King Who Banned the Dark by Emily Haworth-Booth (Pavilion)
  • Julian Is A Mermaid by Jessica Love (Walker Books)
  • 100 Dogs by Michael Whaite (Penguin)

Younger Fiction:

  • The House With Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson (Usborne)
  • The Train To Impossible Places by P.G. Bell (Usborne)
  • Brightstorm by Vashti Hardy (Scholastic)
  • The Mystery Of The Colour Thief by Ewa Jozefkowicz (Head of Zeus)
  • The Boy At the Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Rauf (Hachette Children’s)
  • The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd (Templar)

Older Fiction:

  • The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (Egmont)
  • Children Of Blood And Bone by Tomi Adeyemi (Pan MacMillan)
  • A Winter’s Promise by Christelle Dabos (Europa Editions)
  • The Truth About Lies by Tracy Darnton (Little Tiger Press)
  • Me Mam.Me Dad. Me by Malcolm Duffy (Head of Zeus)
  • Boy 87 by Ele Fountain (Pushkin)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More