Cumbria Crack

New coalition forms Eden District Council’s Executive

Eden District Council held its Annual Meeting on 16 May 2019 and a new Executive (Cabinet) has been formed from the Liberal Democrats, Independent Group and the Labour Party respectively following the recent local District Council elections.

The Council’s Executive is comprised of:

  • Leader – Councillor Virginia Taylor (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Penrith West)
  • Deputy Leader and Commercial Services Portfolio Holder – Councillor Mary Robinson (Independent Group/Ward Kirkoswald)
  • Resources Portfolio Holder – Councillor Karen Greenwood (Independent Group/Ward Appleby)
  • Services Portfolio Holder Councillor Mike Tonkin – (Independent Group/Ward Morland)
  • Communities Portfolio Holder – Councillor Lissie Sharp (Labour Group/Ward Alston Moor)
  • Housing and Health Portfolio Holder – Councillor Judith Derbyshire (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Dacre)
  • Eden Development Portfolio Holder – Councillor Mark Rudhall – (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Penrith North)

The Council also elected a new Chairman and Vice Chairman for the 2019/20 municipal year to carry out civic duties and Chair full Council meetings. Councillor Andy Connell (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Appleby Bongate) was elected as Council Chairman and the Vice Chairman is Councillor Dougie Banks (Independent Group/Ward Langwathby).

The following councillors were elected as the Chairmen of the Council’s committees:

  • Scrutiny Co-ordinating Board – Councillor Dougie Banks (Independent Group/Ward Langwathby)
  • Housing and Communities Scrutiny Committee – Councillor Michael Hanley (Labour Group/Ward Alston Moor)
  • Environment and Economy Scrutiny Committee – Councillor Doug Lawson (Green Group/Ward Penrith Carleton)
  • Accounts and Governance Committee – Councillor Michael Eyles (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Penrith East)
  • Planning Committee – Councillor William Patterson (Independent Group/Ward Warcop)
  • Licensing Committee – Councillor Deb Holden (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Penrith North)
  • Human Resources and Appeals Committee – Councillor Dougie Banks (Independent Group/Ward Langwathby)

The councillors below were appointed to represent the District Council on outside bodies for a four year term (apart from MASCG a one year term):

  • Lake District National Park Authority – Councillor Judith Derbyshire (Liberal Democrat Group/Ward Dacre)
  • Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority – Councillor Sandy Lancaster (Independent Group/Ward Kirkby Stephen)
  • Multi-Agency Strategic Co-ordinating Group for Appleby Fair (MASCG) – Councillor Karen Greenwood (Independent Group/Ward Appleby)

The councillors below were appointed as Champions for:

  • Armed Forces Champion – Councillor John Thompson (Conservative Group/Ward Penrith West)
  • Children and Young People’s Champion – Councillor Lissie Sharp (Labour Group/ward Alston Moor)
  • Old People’s Champion – Councillor Margaret Clark (Independent Group/Ward Penrith South)

For more information about Eden District Council visit

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More