Cumbria Crack

Carlisle General Election Results

John Stevenson delivers his victory speech just after 2am this morning after he was elected Carlisle MP for the fourth time, holding his city seat for the Conservative Party.

Mr Stevenson polled 23,659 votes, 8,319 clear of Labour Party candidate Ruth Alcroft, who received 15,340. That was a marked increase on Mr Stevenson’s 2017 winning majority of 2,599 when he again saw off Ms Alcroft.

Julia Aglionby collected 2,829 votes for the Liberal Democrats, while Fiona Mills polled 1,045 for UKIP Make Brexit Happen.

The turnout was recorded as 66.15%, with 43,068 ballot papers issued to a 65,105-strong electorate.

There were a total of 195 rejected ballot papers: 40 voting for more candidates than the voter was entitled to; four containing writing or a mark by which the voter could be identified, and 151 being “unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty”.

The Carlisle Constituency General Election results are as follows:

Candidates Representative Party Votes
Julia Catherine Weir AGLIONBY Liberal Democrats 2,829
Ruth ALCROFT Labour Party 15,340
Fiona Rachel MILLS UKIP Make Brexit Happen 1,045
John STEVENSON Conservative Party 23,659
Spoilt Votes 195
Total number of votes cast 43,068
The % turnout was 66.15%
Majority 8,319

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More