Cumbria Crack

Penrith and the Border General Election Result

Neil Hudson MP

Conservative Neil Hudson has been elected as the new MP for the Penrith and the Border constituency.

Mr Hudson secured 28,875 votes and becomes the fifth MP to represent the largest constituency in England since it was formed in 1950.

The result was declared at 3.10 am at Penrith Leisure Centre with Labour’s Sarah Williams in second place with 10,356 votes. Matt Severn (Lib Dem) polled 5,364 votes,  Ali Ross (Green) received 2,159 votes and Jonathan Davies (Putting Cumbria First) got 1,070 votes.

The turnout was 71.7 per cent with 48,033 votes cast,

There were 209 spoiled ballot papers.

The result was declared by the High Sherriff of Cumbria Marcia Reid Fotheringham who chose to exercise her powers as returning officer at Penrith.

“I would like to thank all the Eden District Council staff here in the middle of the room who have worked so hard. It is fantastic to see democracy in action,” she said.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More